History of Rugby in Australia

Rugby is one of the most popular sports of Australia played since 1850s. Rugby mainly became popular in Australia between 1900 and 1907 when the teams, such as England and New Zealand started playing Rugby tournaments here.

The first game of Rugby was organized in NSW in 1860s. A district competition of Rugby was introduced in the year 1900. In the Rugby competition held in 1907, 11 teams participated that include Balmain, Souths, Norths, Easts, Glebe, University, Newtown and Sydney.

National Rugby Union team Australia represents it on the global platform of Rugby. “Wallabies” is the nickname given to the team members of Australia Rugby national team. Australia competes with South Africa and New Zealand in the annual tri nation series of Rugby.

In the Rugby tri nation series, Australia competes for Mandela challenge plate and Bledisloe Cup with South Africa and New Zealand respectively. One of the noticeable achievements of Australia in the game of Rugby is that it is given third position in the IRB world rankings on 1 December, 2008.

One of the premium achievements of Australian Rugby team is that it has participated in all the six Rugby world cup tournaments organized till date. According to the Rugby world cup tournament’s record, Australia is one of the most successful teams in the Rugby tournament’s history.

The most astonishing fact regarding Australian Rugby team is that out of six Rugby world cup tournaments, it has won two Rugby world cup tournaments. The first Rugby world cup tournament which the Australian team won was against England in 1991. The second Rugby world cup tournament won by Australia was against France in 1999.

Seven Rugby players that include David Campese, John Eales, Nick Farr-Jones, Michael Lynagh, Ken Catchpole, Mark Ella and Tim Horan are included in the list of hall of fame of the international Rugby sports.

No comments: